Star Wars Marathon: Nesting Viewing Order

Caitlin and Charlotte try a different viewing order for the Skywalker Saga, the Nesting or Matryoshka Viewing Order (as we’ve named it). Here’s the order: Start with The Force Awakens, then The Last Jedi, A New Hope, Empire Strikes Back, The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith, Return of the Jedi, and, finally, The Rise of Skywalker. We go through each important transition and discuss why we loved this order and what interesting things we noticed. All this and more on this episode of Skytalkers!

Click here to download the episode directly!

Further reading:
– “…the matryoshka is more likely to be seen as a metaphor for something nesting inside something else.” (Macalester University)
– “The Meaning and Symbolism of Matryoshka Nesting Dolls
– “It can also be used to represent the personality, where the outer layer displays the public self while the inner layers express the private self.” (“Matryoshka Dolls – An Object-Within-Object Symbol“) (see also: “Meaning of Russian Wooden Stacking Dolls“)

Click read more for the transcript!

2 thoughts on “Star Wars Marathon: Nesting Viewing Order

Leave a Comment